Glossybox November

In my newly found interest of all things cosmetic, I just had to get a subscription box. I had heard about them for a while, and quite frankly never understood why anyone would want to pay for a bunch of samples that might not even fit their skin type/color. But then I went to Makeuptalk. And started reading. And the more I read, the more I understood that I MUST HAVE AT LEAST ONE SUBSCRIPTION BOX.

I initially thought I would start with Birchbox – hey, it’s only $10, has been around for a while and is a great way to get your feet wet, right? Wrong. I quickly came to realize that foil packets wasn’t my idea of a good subscription, so I went with Glossybox. The contents of the previous boxes seemed awesome, and I figured that $21 a month was worth it.

November was my very first box, and I have to say that I wasn’t all that happy with it. Here’s what I got:

Image

November Glossybox contents

  • Skin&Co Truffle day facial serum
  • Illamasqua Medium pencil in Whiplash
  • Nume Arganics hair oil
  • Kryolan blush in Glossy Rosewood
  • Incoco nail stickers in Sinderella

Now, something has to be said right away about the Illamasqua pencil. The boxes came out late this month, so I actually peeked at the Glossybox website to see what we would be getting. When I saw “lip&eye liner”, I immediately got excited and started imagining the great things I could do with a nude color like Hex, or one of the burgundy lip colors, or gray eye colors. And when the box came… I got Whiplash.

Image

Illamasqua medium pencil in Whiplash

Yes, a neon lime-yellow color, and apparently a discontinued one at that. (What a shocker – can’t imagine this one didn’t sell well.)

Honestly, I was very disappointed. While the color itself is beautiful, there is no way I will ever wear it as an eye liner, let alone on my lips. I mean, my idea of a daring eye liner color is eggplant, even silver is a bit on the extreme side. So lime? No.

The truffle serum (which I was also initially excited about – with my dehydrated skin I’ve been in search of a good serum) turned out to be pretty blah. I’ve been using it twice a day for about a week, and it really doesn’t do anything other than smell strongly. Then again, when your third listed ingredient is potato starch (?!), one probably shouldn’t expect miracles.

And then there were the nail stickers. I admittedly haven’t tried them yet, so I can’t really comment. But when looking at the box contents, I was hoping that I WOULDN’T get the perfume or the nail stickers. Good thing I didn’t get both!

Now for the good – the hair oil came in handy. I’ve been needing a good silicone shine serum, and this one does the job well without being greasy. I’ve used it once so far, and plan on putting it to the ultimate test at a black tie event I’m going to tomorrow.

And the number one best thing about this box was the blush. Oh. My. God. It is amazing! The color is perfect – a dusty, cool rose, and the texture is incredible. I’ve never had a blush that goes on so smooth and blends so well. This alone was well worth the $21 – even if the blush fell out of its pan the second time I used it and broke in half. I stuck it right back in (causing it to break even more) and plan on using it till the very last speck is gone. Great, great blush!

Blush, I loved you with all my heart – why did you do this to me?

So if you’re interested in Glossybox, you can always sign up through this link. I’ll wait another couple of months and see how it goes, but I certainly don’t regret signing up!

6 thoughts on “Glossybox November

  1. Angela K says:

    !!! That liner is insane. 😦 I would never dream of using that color on my face (maybe for cool art, though). It looks like the color of one of my old My Little Ponies…

    Like

    • Cranraspberry says:

      Ha, I know! Lucky me, right? 😉
      And the irony is that a lot of people on makeuptalk were complaining that they got “boring” colors like black, gray or red. Well, mine certainly isn’t boring, just unusable!

      And thank you so much for the follow! So happy to have you on board. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

