Covergirl Professional Mascara – Review and Pictures

Covergirl Professional Mascara in brown-black

I’ve been meaning to write this review for a while – a couple of weeks ago RiteAid was having a good Covergirl deal, so I stocked up on some stuff. As always, some were hit, some were miss, but I’ll start with my favorite purchase – Covergirl Professional All-in-One Mascara. Mine is in brown-black and has a curved brush. The price was something around $5 at RiteAid, and even cheaper with coupons (Covergirl is pretty generous with those) and when paired with an UPRewards deal and Buy 1 get one 1/2 price.

Black-brown mascaras are a very recent discovery for me. I had always used pure black, and then accidentally purchased the L’Oreal Voluminous Naturale in black-brown and ended up loving the color (not the mascara, alas) for daily office wear. It’s neutral enough to not look made up, and dark enough to give your eyes some definition. But the L’Oreal mascara was absolutely impossible to get off, and that’s with the non-waterproof version! So I decided to give Covergirl Professional a try.

Covergirl professional brush – couldn’t get the iphone to focus any better than this!

The brush has real bristles and isn’t too large. It was my first ever curved brush, and while I can’t say that I’m a convert, I also don’t have anything bad to say – the mascara goes on very well, and lashes don’t stick together at all. It’s sometimes a little difficult to reach the inner corner lashes, but it’s not too big of a deal.

This mascara is very subtle and natural looking. Very! A lot of people will probably think that it’s one of those “barely there” options, but I actually really like that in mascara. For me, it’s all about faking the effortless natural look.

No mascara in the top picture, one layer of Covergirl professional in the bottom one

I have to apologize for my pictures being not up to par – which is kind of ironic, considering that in a past life I was a professional photographer. But for this blog I’ve decided to limit myself to iphone pictures.

In any case, you can see that there is a difference. The lashes are gently colored and lengthened. Curl and volume? Nope, not with this one (sorry, promises of “all-in-one”!), but then again I only use volumizing mascara for night-time dressy events, and they require the whole shebang – eyeliner, several shades of eyeshadow carefully blended, etc.

Same thing here – top picture no mascara, bottom picture one layer of Covergirl Professional

I think you can really see a difference on these two pictures. Best of all, the mascara wears perfectly. It doesn’t irritate my sensitive eyes like so many department store brand mascaras (oh what a waste of $20!), doesn’t smudge or flake, just acts like a good little soldier all day. And best of all, comes off so easily with a little eye makeup remover or even water! Such a welcome change after the L’Oreal.

So this mascara was definitely a very nice surprise. We’ll see how it behaves in a couple of weeks (I’ve had it for about 2 weeks so far, and haven’t noticed any drying, but you never know), but for now this is definitely my everyday wear staple.

Leave a Reply

