Zoya Ziv Review and Swatches

Zoya Ziv - from the 2012 Zoya Ornate Collection

Zoya Ziv – from the 2012 Zoya Ornate Collection

It’s been a couple of weeks since I got my December Glossybox, and I’ve been actively using a lot of the products I’ve received. So far my absolute favorite has to be the Zoya Ziv nail polish. I had been wanting a gold nail polish for the holidays, and was super excited when I got the Ziv and not the Storm in my Glossybox – Storm is a beautiful black sparkly color, but I can’t wear colors as dark as that. For some reason on my nails they instantly look incredibly ugly, so I stay away from anything darker than a deep red burgundy.

I used the Ziv for my Christmas manicure (and of course the day before I broke one of my nails and had to do away with all the others – while I don’t typically do long nails, they are usually a bit longer than on the pictures) and here are my impressions:

Zoya nail polish brush

Zoya nail polish brush

First of all, this polish goes on like a dream. And trust me, I am one of those people who has a really, REALLY hard time doing my own nails. The brush is narrow, which I love – even though I don’t have small nails, most wide brushes are really inconvenient for me to use. The Zoya brush is perfectly sized and shaped and the formula just glides on like magic.

The second coat went on without any streaks or smudges – I honestly don’t think I’ve ever had a nail polish that applied so effortlessly! I can’t say about drying time – I was in a hurry and used both the CND Air Dry and OPI Drip Dry and still managed to get a small smudge on one of my nails as I was digging through my makeup bag in search of mascara, but I’m sure it’s about average.

The color is absolutely beautiful. You know those polishes that make you smile every time you notice your own nails? Well, for me it’s definitely one of those. On the one hand, it’s a yellow gold, but at the same time it’s not too yellow – in fact, I wish I had taken a picture of what it looked like with one coat. I think the first coat is somehow cooler in tone, and then the second coat really brings out the yellow gold.

Day 3 of Zoya Ziv – see how the gold changes depending on the lighting?

As for the way it wears, here’s a picture of my nails on day 3 – and once again, I am one of those people whose polish starts to chip and peel by day 3! I think the glittery texture helps mask certain imperfections, but all in all I’m incredibly impressed – there are no obvious chips yet, and I’ve been using my nails to tear open Christmas presents, break down gift boxes and help with dishes.

Honestly, I think I’m a Zoya convert. I will certainly be trying some other Zoya polishes, and if any of them are even half as awesome as Ziv, I will be a customer for life!

And best of all – I couldn’t have done this without Glossybox! I was a little disappointed with my first November box, but the December one really made up for that. So if you’re interested in trying out, head on over to glossybox.com – it’s $21 for a month, and if you go through shopathome or ebates, you’ll get $2-3 cash back on your subscription. I wouldn’t recommend signing up for the 3-6-12 month boxes just yet though – those can’t be cancelled, and since the quality of the boxes has been somewhat inconsistent, it might be a good idea not to commit to anything other than the month-by-month sub (unless a great deal comes up of course!).

And while you’re here – please don’t forget to enter my Holiday Giveaway! Send me a message or comment on this post and you could win a 0.5 oz. sample of Neutrogena hand cream.

10 thoughts on “Zoya Ziv Review and Swatches

      • Chris El (@ChrisEl25) says:

        When I saw Ziv, I thought the same thing! In response to your question on my blog, I’ve had good experiences with London Butter’s Artful Dodger, a greyish light blue. I feel like this is prone to chipping because of the metalllic, foil-like quality, but it’s still such a gorgeous polish that I’ll deal with retouching every few days. Thanks for visiting and I hope to see you on myfashiontrendencies.com soon! 🙂

        Like

        • Cranraspberry says:

          If you ever can, try out the Ziv – I was actually super impressed by its staying power! 4 full days on me, with extra Christmas wear and tear. And I’m one of those people who start getting chips by day 2-3!

          Like

  1. Dawn says:

    I read a lot of interesting posts here. Probably you spend
    a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality, google friendly
    posts in minutes, just search in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

    Like

Leave a Reply

