Neutrogena Cosmetics Review and Swatches: Healthy Lengths Mascara, Crease Proof Eyeshadow, MoistureSmooth Color Stick

Neutrogena Cosmetics: Healthy Lengths Mascara, Crease Proof Eyeshadow and MoistureSmooth Color Stick

Neutrogena Cosmetics: Healthy Lengths Mascara, Crease Proof Eyeshadow and MoistureSmooth Color Stick

As a BzzAgent I sometimes get sent products and asked to review them. This one was super exciting, as it’s right up my alley: Neutrogena Cosmetics!

In my BzzKit I got the following:

I’ve had a chance to use all these products for several weeks, so now I can post a detailed review.

Neutrogena Healthy Lengths Mascara Applicator

Neutrogena Healthy Lengths Mascara Applicator

I’ll start off with my absolute favorite product: the Healthy Lengths Mascara. It is a lengthening mascara formulated with vitamin E and olive oil to strengthen your lashes over time, and it’s also ophthalmologist tested. That last one is super important for me – I have incredibly sensitive eyes, and I have to say that I was very impressed with Healthy Lengths! No irritation, no eye watering, nothing of the kind. It also lengthens lashes wonderfully. However, it doesn’t give any volume whatsoever, so I see this primarily as an everyday mascara, and for evening or special occasion makeup I use something with a little more “oomph”.
The mascara doesn’t smudge or flake, the brush separates lashes very well, and it definitely lasts all day without any issues. I absolutely love it and have been wearing it to work every single day since I received it in the mail. If I had to nitpick, my only issue would be the quality of the applicator – even though it does a great job of separating, it feels a little cheap and the bristle edges are prickly. But as long as you don’t jab yourself in the eye with it, it’s great!

Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow: Constant Copper and Lasting Mauve

Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow: Constant Copper and Lasting Taupe

The next product is the Crease Proof Eye Shadow. It is formulated with a built-in primer for up to 12 hours of wear, is full of conditioning antioxidants and is also ophthalmologist tested to make sure it’s good for sensitive eyes.

Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow Swatches: Constant Copper and Lasting Taupe

Neutrogena Crease Proof Eye Shadow Swatches: Constant Copper and Lasting Taupe

Unfortunately, with my hooded eyes the built-in primer didn’t really do much, and when applied to the whole eyelid, the makeup only lasted a couple of hours before it started to crease like mad. However, I came up with a solution: I started using the shadows as thick eye liners for everyday wear. That way I get a little more eye definition, but when they disappear, they disappear without a trace instead of creasing.
The colors are very nice and neutral, especially Constant Copper which can also be used as a highlighter because of how nicely shimmery it is. Both go on pretty easily, and didn’t give my sensitive eyes any issues!

Neutrogena MoistureSmooth Color Stick Swatch

Neutrogena MoistureSmooth Color Stick in Sweet Watermelon Swatch

Last but not least, the Neutrogena Moisture Smooth Color Stick in Sweet Watermelon, formulated with mango and shea butter for continuous moisturizing. I was initially most excited about this product and thought it would be absolutely perfect for spring, but alas this turned out to be my least favorite of the three.
First of all, I just couldn’t get past the smell. It has a VERY strong, chemically-fruity type scent, and also a strange taste. I absolutely can’t stand strong scents, so this was a total turn off right away. Secondly, what I had hoped to be a light shimmer turned out to be a very strong frost – I’m not sure my swatch really shows, but the finish is reminiscent of those pearlescent lipsticks from the 80’s – eek! So unfortunately this product for me was a total  disappointment. However, the other two products definitely made up for that, and overall Neutrogena Cosmetics left a very, very nice impression!

I got the Neutrogena Cosmetics set for free from BzzAgent. All opinions expressed in this post are my own.

Leave a Reply

