Cheer Powder Laundry Detergent now HE Compatible!

Cheer Powder Laundry Detergent for HE Machines

Cheer has always been known as a highly effective powder detergent for colors – it lacks the OBAs that are present in most detergents sold in the US which can make saturated colors fade. And now it’s finally HE compatible!!

 

 

Cheer powder is one of the few laundry detergents widely available in the US that does not contain optical brighteners (OBAs) and is therefore truly safe for colors. Read on to find out why this is important and why you should avoid OBAs for your colored loads.

For the longest time Cheer was only available in a non-HE friendly version. Some people still used it in their HE front loaders with good results, but I personally did not want to take that risk. Well now Cheer powder is finally HE compatible! Head on over to Olga’s Laundry Blog to read the full post about HE friendly Cheer powder.

Continue reading on Olga’s Laundry Blog →

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cheer Powder Laundry Detergent now HE Compatible!

  1. Lillian says:

    A laundry need blog! How wonderful!

    This post reminded me that I used Cheer all through college and loved it, but since getting a front-loader, using cloth diapers, etc, I had forgotten about it. I will have to pick up a box, though I have found that many powders that now advertise “HE or non-HE” generally foam too much for my comfort. I am currently working my way through a box of All F&C powder for HE and it foams even in my hard water.

    We are moving next week and our new house has a very basic non-HE top loader set that appear to be clean and in great shape. I cannot decide if I should bring my LG HE front loader set with me, or wait and see how I like the top loader (we are not selling our current place, so I could always come back and pick up my LG set.)

    The reason why I am even considering leaving my FLer behind is that it has required many repairs in its five years, and is the only appliance for which I actually bought an extended warranty, which has now ended. Last month I had to pay $180 to replace the pump, and I feel like even moving it risks it breaking – like Murphys Law for making the effort.

    Anyway, do you think it possible to go back to a very basic TLer after having lived with a fancy FLer for so long? I think that it will be nice to have more detergent choices for a non-HE machine, and certainly less repairs, but maybe it won’t clean as well.

    Like

    • Cranraspberry says:

      Hi Lillian!

      I think foaming issues depend so much on the water… I haven’t had any foaming with the HE Cheer, so hopefully you won’t as well!

      As for the TL vs FL, I have to admit that I have never owned a TL washer, so I unfortunately can’t compare the two. I do think that if you aren’t selling your current house it would be a good idea to play around with the new washer and see how it compares before deciding whether to keep it or stick with the FL you have now. Or maybe there’s an option to add the plumbing for two machines? That way you’d have the best of both worlds and would never have to worry about one of the washers breaking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

