Exciting news – my blog is about to move!

I started this blog in December of 2012 to have a space where I could share my thoughts on a brand new world of beauty and healthy living. As somebody who spends way too much time researching every purchase I make, it felt really good to have an outlet for all of that and to feel like I’m helping others by sharing my knowledge and experience. Over the years the subjects I write about have evolved, and I haven’t always been consistent with blogging, but in spite of all that trial and error I always came back to post about my most recent findings.

2015 has been huge for me so far. Not only have I started to finally figure out my favorite blogging topic (laundry!), but the number of people visiting my site and reaching out via comments and emails is higher than ever. I’ve decided that it’s finally time to move to a self hosted blog!

I’m incredibly excited about the process. The new blog will have all of the old archives available, but all future materials will be easier to navigate and better organized. I will still write about most of the things I normally share, however the main focus will be laundry and healthy living.

Thank you so much for being with me through the years and I really hope that I will continue to see the same people at http://olgaslaundry.com!

4 thoughts on “Exciting news – my blog is about to move!

  1. Penny Davis says:

    I found your blog while searching for information about the laundry detergent Persil which I had discovered while staying at a vacation rental home this month. Your research and commentary were enough to make me head to the local Walmart to purchase the detergent. I returned home and likewise ordered the black sponges and microfiber dish/face cloths you had researched. Love, love all three purchases and now consider your site the go to place for knowledgeable information about cleaning products.

    Like

    • Cranraspberry says:

      Hi Penny and thank you so much for your lovely comment! It has absolutely made my day.

      I’m really glad that you are enjoying your purchases – the black sponges are amazing! I recently decided to give the Dobie a try to see how it compares (it was The Sweet Home’s top pick), and while it scrubs well it got stained and gross looking in just a couple of weeks. I was really glad to go back to the black ones that last forever!

      Like

  2. Jenny says:

    hi there,
    i stumbled upon your blog while googling whether or not Persil (US version) had bleach in it. What an informative and fantastic blog.
    I have quite a few button down white shirts that have a little lycra in it. OMG, they all turned yellow with one washing. Dry cleaning them have also turned them dingy. I was wondering if you have had any experience in washing these type of shirts. There’s a specialized dry cleaner here that charges $41 to dry clean these type shirts. What? $41? The label says it can be washed so since I haven’t had any luck with REGULAR dry cleaning, i thought i’d try to hand wash them. Alas, the entire shirt turned yellow.
    I was wondering if you knew of any detergents that have absolutely no bleach in them where perhaps it wouldn’t turn the shirts yellow? Thanks in advance for any advice you may have.
    Thanks for the wonderful blog!!
    Jenny

    Like

    • Cranraspberry says:

      Hi Jenny and thanks for the comment!
      Hmm, that’s a tough one… So you think it’s the detergent that caused the yellowing? Normally powder detergents have oxygen bleach added, even if it says “with bleach”, and oxygen bleach (sodium percarbonate) really should not cause any yellowing at all. In fact, it’s actually a great thing to use on yellowed whites to bring the normal color back. Powder and liquid detergents do not contain true bleach (sodium hypochlorite).

      So if I could just ask you for a little more details – what exactly is the fabric (I’m assuming it’s like 95% cotton and 5% lycra?), what detergent and additives did you use when washing and what water temperature?

      I absolutely would NOT pay $41 for dry cleaning – that’s NUTS. And on top of it all most drycleaners will commercially wash anything that doesn’t say “dry clean only” anyway!

      Like

Leave a Reply

